Graduate Students

Angela Bischof

Angela Bischof

Student

angela.bischof@duke.edu

I am a third-year PhD student in the Philosophy department. I hold a BA in Philosophy and a BA in Psychology from New Mexico State University. My research concerns the moral standing of nonhuman...

full profile »

Caleb Hazelwood

Caleb Hazelwood

Student

caleb.hazelwood@duke.edu

I work on conceptual problems in biology. I am especially concerned with issues in evolution and development, as well as the intersection of these domains. Some questions that have motivated my...

full profile »

Ewan Kingston

Ewan Kingston

Student

ewan.kingston@duke.edu

Ewan's current research concerns the challenge posed to traditional political theory, especially democratic theory, by the increasing environmental and economic interconnections between people...

full profile »

Qiu Lin

Qiu Lin

Student

qiu.lin@duke.edu

I am a Ph.D student at Duke Philosophy. My areas of strength are early modern philosophy and philosophy of space and time. My areas of interests are Newton, 18th century mechanics, and Chinese...

full profile »

Joseph Nelson

Joseph Nelson

Student

joseph.nelson@duke.edu

My main area of interest is in ethics, and I'm writing a dissertation on pleasure, pain, and well-being.

Hannah Read

Hannah Read

Student

hannah.read@duke.edu

My work is broadly concerned with moral issues that arise as part of life in diverse communities, in the face of disagreement and difference. One aim of my work is to diagnose and explain certain...

full profile »

Songyao Ren

Songyao Ren

Student

songyao.ren@duke.edu

I am a fourth-year PhD candidate in philosophy, working on ethics and non-western philosophy. My dissertation project draws insights from Stoicism and Zhuangism to study whether a good life is one...

full profile »

Erick Sam

Erick Sam

Student

erick.sam@duke.edu

I am a Ph.D Candidate in the Department of Philosophy, currently writing a dissertation on foundational issues in international taxation and migration law. I hold a B.A. in philosophy and in...

full profile »

Ben Sarbey

Ben Sarbey

Student

ben.sarbey@lawnet.duke.edu

I am a 2nd year PhD student specializing in bioethics and moral psychology. I am interested in the philosophy of death, in particular issues related to how we experience the processes of dying and...

full profile »

Valerie Soon

Valerie Soon

Student

valerie.jean.soon@duke.edu

I work in philosophy of social science and political philosophy. My dissertation is on the relationship between individuals and structures. In general, I'm interested in the connection between...

full profile »

Heather Wallace

Heather Wallace

Student

heather.wallace@duke.edu

Heather is writing a dissertation about Simone de Beauvoir & the problem of other minds, under the direction of Toril Moi and ...

full profile »

Tara Weese

Tara Weese

Student

tara.weese@lawnet.duke.edu

My research interests are primarily in political and legal philosophy. More specifically, I am interested in victims' issues and victims' rights, the role of the adversarial system in determining...

full profile »