Graduate Students

Max Beninger

Max Beninger

Student

max.beninger@duke.edu

I am a fifth-year graduate student working in the philosophy of mind and the philosophy of cognitive science. My research focuses on working memory and the global workspace theory of consciousness...

full profile »

Angela Bischof

Angela Bischof

Student

angela.bischof@duke.edu

I am a third-year PhD student in the Philosophy department. I hold a BA in Philosophy and a BA in Psychology from New Mexico State University. My research concerns the moral standing of nonhuman...

full profile »

Bryce Gessell

Bryce Gessell

Student

bryce.gessell@duke.edu

I work in philosophy of mind, history of philosophy and science, and the mind-body problem. I am interested in how that problem manifests in contemporary philosophy, psychology, and neuroscience....

full profile »

Ewan Kingston

Ewan Kingston

Student

ewan.kingston@duke.edu

Ewan's current research concerns the challenge posed to traditional political theory, especially democratic theory, by the increasing environmental and economic interconnections between people...

full profile »

Qiu Lin

Qiu Lin

Student

qiu.lin@duke.edu

I am a second-year Ph.D student at Duke Philosophy. My areas of strength are early modern philosophy and philosophy of space and time. My areas of interests are Newton, 18th century mechanics, and...

full profile »

Joseph Nelson

Joseph Nelson

Student

joseph.nelson@duke.edu

My main area of interest is in ethics, and I'm writing a dissertation on pleasure, pain, and well-being.

Erick Sam

Erick Sam

Student

erick.sam@duke.edu

I am a Ph.D student in the Department of Philosophy. I hold a B.A. in philosophy and in economics from Brown University and a J.D. from Yale Law School. Prior to arriving at Duke, I worked as a...

full profile »

Ben Sarbey

Ben Sarbey

Student

ben.sarbey@lawnet.duke.edu

1st year PhD student. I work on topics in moral psychology and bioethics.

Valerie Soon

Valerie Soon

Student

valerie.jean.soon@duke.edu

I work in philosophy of social science and political philosophy. My dissertation is on the relationship between individuals and structures. In general, I'm interested in the connection between...

full profile »

Sungwoo Um

Sungwoo Um

Student

sungwoo.um@duke.edu

Sungwoo Um is a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Philosophy and an assistant director of the Center for Comparative Philosophy...

full profile »

Heather Wallace

Heather Wallace

Student

heather.wallace@duke.edu

Heather is writing a dissertation about Simone de Beauvoir & the problem of other minds, under the direction of Toril Moi and ...

full profile »

Tara Weese

Tara Weese

Student

tara.weese@lawnet.duke.edu

My research interests are primarily in political and legal philosophy. More specifically, I am interested in victims' issues and victims' rights, the role of the adversarial system in determining...

full profile »