Graduate Students

Bobby Bingle

Bobby Bingle

Student

robert.bingle@duke.edu

Bobby Bingle is a fifth-year PhD student in the Philosophy department. His research is in moral philosophy and focuses on theories of moral responsibility and the reactive attitudes, as well as in...

full profile »

Angela Bischof

Angela Bischof

Student

angela.bischof@duke.edu

I am a third-year PhD student in the Philosophy department. I hold a BA in Philosophy and a BA in Psychology from New Mexico State University. My research concerns the moral standing of nonhuman...

full profile »

Tim Burkhardt

Tim Burkhardt

Student

tim.burkhardt@duke.edu

I am a PhD student with a BA in philosophy from the University of Colorado, Boulder. My philosophical interests are broad but mostly focused in applied ethics, with special interests in the...

full profile »

Tayfun Gur

Tayfun Gur

Student

tayfun.gur@duke.edu

I think mainly about ethics, but also have interests in philosophy of language and the history of philosophy more generally. Lately, I have been learning more about comparative philosophy and...

full profile »

Caleb Hazelwood

Caleb Hazelwood

Student

caleb.hazelwood@duke.edu

I work on conceptual problems in biology. I am especially concerned with issues at the interface of evolution and development. In current projects, I investigate causal explanations in...

full profile »

Shih-Han Huang

Shih-Han Huang

Student

shihhan.huang@duke.edu

I'm a first-year philosophy Ph.D. student from Taiwan. 

Qiu Lin

Qiu Lin

Student

qiu.lin@duke.edu

I am a Ph.D student at Duke Philosophy. My areas of strength are early modern philosophy and philosophy of space and time. My areas of interests are Newton, 18th century mechanics, and Chinese...

full profile »

Botian Liu

Botian Liu

Student

botian.liu@duke.edu

I am a second-year PhD student in the Philosophy department. My main philosophical interest is becoming a good person, which forces me to examine a wide range of issues in ethics. To get as much...

full profile »

Joseph Nelson

Joseph Nelson

Student

joseph.nelson@duke.edu

My main area of interest is in ethics, and I'm writing a dissertation on pleasure, pain, and well-being.

Hannah Read

Hannah Read

Student

hannah.read@duke.edu

My work is broadly concerned with moral issues that arise as part of life in diverse communities, in the face of disagreement and difference. One aim of my work is to diagnose and explain certain...

full profile »

Songyao Ren

Songyao Ren

Student

songyao.ren@duke.edu

I am a fourth-year PhD candidate in philosophy, working on ethics and non-western philosophy. My dissertation project draws insights from Stoicism and Zhuangism to study whether a good life is one...

full profile »

Erick Sam

Erick Sam

Student

erick.sam@duke.edu

I am a Ph.D Candidate in the Department of Philosophy, currently writing a dissertation on foundational issues in international taxation and migration law. I hold a B.A. in philosophy and in...

full profile »

Ben Sarbey

Ben Sarbey

Student

ben.sarbey@lawnet.duke.edu

I am a PhD student in the Department of Philosophy, specializing in medical ethics and moral psychology. I graduated from Duke Law School in 2017, focusing on health law.

I am interested...

full profile »

Valerie Soon

Valerie Soon

Student

valerie.jean.soon@duke.edu

I work in philosophy of social science and political philosophy. My dissertation is on the relationship between individuals and structures. In general, I'm interested in the connection between...

full profile »

Heather Wallace

Heather Wallace

Student

heather.wallace@duke.edu

Heather is writing a dissertation about Simone de Beauvoir existential vulnerability, under the direction of Toril Moi and ...

full profile »

Tara Weese

Tara Weese

Student

tara.weese@lawnet.duke.edu

My research interests are primarily in political and legal philosophy. More specifically, I am interested in victims' issues and victims' rights, the role of the adversarial system in determining...

full profile »