Professor Owen Flanagan is to be honored  by his former students and colleagues with a conference on September 28-29. Please see details by clicking here. The event is free, but you must RSVP.  Full URL:     read more about Owen Flanagan to be Honored at Conference »

The Department of Philosophy welcomes Kathrine Brading.  Katherine comes to us from University of Notre Dame, where she served as Director of the History and Philosophy of Science Program. She currently holds an ACLS collaborative research fellowship with Marius Stan (Boston College) for their book on 18th century matter theory and mechanics. Additional projects include research on 18th century philosopher Émilie du Châtelet Foundations of Physics; and a monograph re-telling history of philosophy from the late sixteenth… read more about Welcome Katherine Brading! »

Philosophy doctoral student, Adela Deanova, completed a series of online courses in digital marketing in order to contribute to Project Vox, a digital initiative that recovers the lost voices of female philosophers in the early modern era. More story here. read more about Philosophy Grad Student Builds Expertise in Marketing and Data Analysis »

Alex Rosenberg published in the New York Times:  Click here to read "The Making of a Non-Patriot" read more about Alexander Rosenberg- "The Making of a Non-Patriot" »

In a review of the new film "The Circle" in The Atlantic, Professor Elizabeth Yale discusses the philosophical views of Margaret Cavendish and mentions Project Vox along the way.  read more about Cavendish and Project Vox in The Atlantic »

Frédéric Bouchard, who earned a PhD in philosophy from Duke in 2005, has been named Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences at the University of Montreal in Canada. Congratulations! read more about Duke PhD named Dean at University of Montreal »

We are delighted to announce that Professor Felipe De Brigard has received a major grant from the Office of Naval Research. The pending award, entitled “Counterfactual thinking and omissive causation,” brings $555,560 to Duke to support Professor De Brigard's ongoing research into counterfactuals. Congratulations! read more about Professor Felipe De Brigard receives major grant »

Team Members include: Aaron Ancell, Duke University, Dr. Jordan Carpenter, Psychology, Duke University, and Dr. Jesse Summers, Philosophy, Duke University. A Healthier Q&A: Can asking the right questions make political discussion more productive?Walter Sinnott-Armstrong of Duke University and his team will work to determine which questions, and which contexts, produce humility and civility in public discourse and which produce polarization and inflexibility, with the ultimate goal of finding… read more about Walter Sinnott-Armstrong Awarded Grant- "Towards a Culture of Questioning: Accountability, Humility, and Public Discourse" »

Aaron Ancell, Ph.D. candidate in Philosophy, coauthored a paper that was published this month in Cambridge Quarterly of Healthcare Ethics. The paper, “How to Allow Conscientious Objections in Medicine While Protecting Patient Rights,” challenges those who propose an outright ban on conscientious objections in medicine, arguing that many conscientious objections must be permitted simply because they fall within the range of freedom doctors have to define the scope of their own practices. The latter half of the… read more about Philosophy Student Explores Healthcare Ethics, Political Disagreement »

Allen Buchanan (Duke Philosophy) and Russell Powell (Boston University)  accepted the NEH Grant Offers and Awards, July 2016. Project Title: The Evolution of Moral Progress Project Description: Preparation for publication of a co-written book about the possibility of a theory of moral progress in light of current evolutionary explanations of morality.  For more information on the NEH Grant, please click here. read more about NEH Grant Awarded to Allen Buchanan and Russell Powell »

Duke alumnus Joseph Wu is among 55 international recipients selected for the Gates-Cambridge Scholarship, which covers a student’s tuition and living expenses while completing a graduate degree at the University of Cambridge. Some 3,730 applicants competed for only 90 scholarships (55 of which are reserved for international students or students studying outside the United States). The Gates-Cambridge Scholarship program began in 2000 with a grant of $210 million from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. The scholarships… read more about Duke Alumnus Joseph Wu Named Gates-Cambridge Scholar »

Link to First Lecture (Oc tober 28, 2015):  "What is Moral Progress?"   Link to Second Lecture (November 4, 2015): "Is Human Nature an Obstacle to Moral Progress?"     Link to Third Lecture (November 11, 2015): "Toward a Naturalistic History of Moral Progress"   read more about Recordings of Phi Beta Kappa Romanell Lectures »