Graduate Students

Aaron Ancell

Student

aaron.ancell@duke.edu

My areas of speciality are political philosophy and ethics. My dissertation advances a framework for thinking about political disagreements that is informed by social epistemology and psychology....

full profile »

Max Beninger

Student

max.beninger@duke.edu

I am a fifth-year graduate student working in the philosophy of mind and the philosophy of cognitive science. My research focuses on working memory and the global workspace theory of consciousness...

full profile »

Michael Campbell

Student

Office Hours: By appointment.

michael.j.campbell@duke.edu

I'm a third year PhD student interested primarily in metaethics and normativity more generally.

Adela Deanova

Student

adela.deanova@duke.edu

Adela Deanova is a PhD candidate in Philosophy at Duke University, writing a dissertation on the natural philosophy of Robert Boyle and John Locke, and Cavendish's critique of...

full profile »

Alex Deforge

Graduate Assistant

Office Hours: Thursdays 2-4pm Philosophy Department or by appointment

alexandra.deforge@duke.edu

full profile »

Bryce Gessell

Student

bryce.gessell@duke.edu

I work in philosophy of science, history of philosophy, and the mind-body problem. I am interested in how that problem manifests in contemporary philosophy, psychology, and neuroscience. My...

full profile »

Ewan Kingston

Student

ewan.kingston@duke.edu

Ewan's current research concerns the challenge posed to traditional political theory, especially democratic theory, by the increasing environmental and economic interconnections between people...

full profile »

missing portrait

Lester Miller

Graduate Assistant

Office: 201 W. Duke Bldg, BOX_90743, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: +1 919 660 3050

lester.miller@duke.edu

full profile »

Joseph Nelson

Student

Office Hours: Wednesdays 11:30am-1:30pmLocation: West Duke building, room 09D.

joseph.nelson@duke.edu

I am a fourth-year graduate student in the department of philosophy. My main area of interest is in ethics, and I am preparing a dissertation on pleasure, pain, and well-being.

missing portrait

Erick Sam

Student

erick.sam@duke.edu

I am a Ph.D student in the Department of Philosophy. I hold a B.A. in philosophy and in economics from Brown University and a J.D. from Yale Law School. Prior to arriving at Duke, I worked as a...

full profile »

Ben Sarbey

Student

ben.sarbey@lawnet.duke.edu

JD/MA student. I am interested in moral psychology and ethics.

Sungwoo Um

Student

sungwoo.um@duke.edu

Sungwoo Um is a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Philosophy and an assistant director of the Center for Comparative Philosophy...

full profile »

missing portrait

Heather Wallace

Student

heather.wallace@duke.edu

Heather is writing a dissertation about Simone de Beauvoir & the problem of other minds, under the direction of Toril Moi and ...

full profile »